Darin Janssen’s Weblog

Philosophy

self-portraitWell hear I am.  My self portrait.  I am quite good at drawing myself part by part with my eyes shut.  My eyes are in place, my body, two legs, one foot, one arm, and my hands are connected and where they should be.  I have to say I did a darn good job for not being able to see what I was drawing.  Yes, one foot seems to have fallen off, my one arm is not connected, my hands have six fingers (now I can count to 22), and my nose and mouth are on top of my head, but no buddy is perfect.  We all have defects or things to work on.  If I drew the picture over again I could guarantee that it would not look the same.  I am a changing person.  Everyday I am faced with information that pushes my thoughts, ideas, and beliefs.

We were asked to write a statement about our philosophy of education.  I find this hard to do.  I have not yet figured out what my philosophy of education is.  I have some ideas, but I am questioning those ideas every day with everything I read and experience.  Do people really have a philosophy of education that does not change?  I guess we could have some basic things that we believe and they do not change.  But isn’t the point of studying and learning new stuff to push our thoughts, ideas, or beliefs?  The more I learn, the more I realize I have a lot more to learn.

Darin

January 16, 2009 - Posted by | EPS 255, Pre-internship

1 Comment »

  1. LOVE the self-portrait, Darin. You are quite the artist. You are absolutely right that you are on a journey to understanding and solidifying (but also questioning) your philosophy of education. Continue pushing and challenging yourself – you have much to offer to students of today. I’m so glad that you have such an interest in pursuing the power of technology for our students’ learning and for their future.

    Comment by machnaij | February 8, 2009


Leave a Reply

