Darin Janssen’s Weblog

Where I have been and where I am going.

Well over the last month I have been debating on where I would like this blog to go now that I am finished my ECMP 355 class. I still do not know, but I figured I would just start writing again and see what happens.

I am taking a spring class right now and it is keeping me busy. I am taking educational administration (EADM 310). My class is two nights a week for three hours. We have had a couple of guest speakers who have been quite interesting. First there was a lawyer from the Sask Learning telling us some basic things we as new teachers needed to know about kinds contracts, what teachers responsibilities are, and how not to have her learn what our names are because then we are in big trouble. The second speaker was with the Regina Separate School Board talking about school budgets. He talked about all the different levels within the school system and how the different budgets were figured out and how much money each level was spending. Part of his talk was about salaries of teachers and what we can expect to be paid when we start to teach. Of course it was salaries which brought about the most questions for him. Overall the class is interesting but a lot of time reading. I am sure glad I am taking it by itself rather that with four other classes.

What is new is my life? I bought my first sea kayak. I had never been is a sea kayak before and the first time I got into it I almost ended up swimming in Wascana Lake. I definitely did not want that to happen because the ice had only been off the lake for a couple of days. Once I had gotten safely into the kayak I felt quite comfortable. The next day I was online to find the proper way to get into a sea kayak. From that point on getting in and out has been a smooth process. My family and I went to Calgary and Banff National Park for the Victoria Day long weekend. We had a good time visiting my brother and sister-in-law, shopping to save the tax, and exploring the mountains. For me the most fun was our day in Banff. We went to Sulpher Mountain and road the gondola, explored the town, and found the hard path to view Bow Falls. I sure love the mountains there is so much to do and the scenery is incredible.

What are my plans for the rest of the summer? I am hoping to spend as much time as I can in my kayak, in my canoe, on my bike, out camping, and of course spending as much time as possible with my family before my pre-intern year begins. I am both looking forward to and dreading the next year of school. The last year has been hard on my family and it looks like the next year is not going to be any better. I am taking a week-long training course at the beginning of July for Scouts. Briana is coming along with me to the training which is a Seonee Scout Camp. The have a program for the kids of people taking training the kids get to spend their days having fun while the adult spend our days studying. It should be a lot of fun for us both. My other plans for the summer are to go to Edmonton. Briana, Garrick, and I are going to leave for Edmonton with the camper. We will spend a couple of days at Dillberry Provincial Park, and then continue on to Edmonton where Michelle will be flying in to join us. We are going to spend five days outside of Edmonton visiting friends on their farm and then make our way back home.

Well that is all I have to say for now. My goal is to post something at least every two weeks. Maybe by the end of the summer I will have an idea of where I want to go with this blog.

Darin

May 29, 2008 - Posted by | General

1 Comment »

  1. Nice to hear that you’re doing well. I’ll be waiting for more updates, and I hope you do keep blogging.

    Comment by Nicole Little | June 2, 2008


Leave a Reply

