Darin Janssen’s Weblog

Your name is attached to it!

As you read this posting, I would like to state that I am by no means trying to be offensive, rather constructively critical.  

We are assigned to post blogs on the internet. Anyone can read what we post; fellow students, professors, employers, even future employers.  A person’s first impression or assumptions are strong and can be difficult to overcome, especially when negative.

As I read other postings and comments on our various blogs, I wonder how much consideration some people have on how professional they appear.  I have noticed some  spelling and grammatical errors being made that could easily be fixed by simply re-reading before the posts are published.  I ran into the same thing in my EPS 100 class last year and in other classes where we had to read other students work.  We are training to become teachers and I feel it is important to have a level of professionalism when it comes to what we attach our name to. 

I will be the first to admit that I am terrible at spelling and grammar so I have made it habit to read and re-read everything that I am attaching my name to.  I do not always find all the mistakes, but I always find some, even after the fourth or fifth reading.  The mistakes I do miss are usually not obvious and will generally be missed by others as well.  I am sure there are mistakes in this posting and I am sure some people reading this post will read it a second time to try to find some errors.  I am ok with that because maybe it will encourage you to consider getting in the habit of re-reading everything that has your name attached to it before you post it, publish it, or hand it in.

Darin

January 28, 2008 - Posted by | ECMP 355, General

7 Comments »

  1. This is a great post that can illicit many responses. Depending on how you view a blog, your point may or may not be valid.

    If you see it as you’ve described as a publishing space of future educators, then it’s clearly important to portray yourself accordingly. Some might argue it’s more of an exploratory space where the odd error or grammatical miscue is okay.

    I tend to agree with in general simply because intent and purpose is difficult to convey in a single post. Unless someone knows you, follows your blog regularly, they might not know how you use it. I also think that in the day of mass publishing, we need to separate ourselves from the pack with quality. This is not to say the odd error is going to harm you but certainly blatant grammatical or spelling errors can only serve to discredit you as an educator.

    Here’s one little tip: Use Firefox since it has a built in spell check. I’ve already used it 3 times in this comment!

    Comment by shareski | January 28, 2008

  2. The general public has a greater expectation of teachers because we are educating youth. Even if blogs are seen as an exploratory space, hte blatant mistakes, such as I just did, are so easily corrected by reading your writing through once, or using spell check. I feel that the odd miscue is acceptable, but blatant mistakes are not professional.
    Thanks for the tip about Firefox Dean. The spell check Firefox has built in is a great tool I did not know about. It worked well while I was writing this response.
    Darin

    Comment by Darin Janssen | January 29, 2008

  3. I kind of have mixed feelings towards this issue. A blog is your own personal space for self expression, but on the other hand, if you want people to take you seriously, I think that correct spelling and grammar is important. I find it very distracting and hard to read blog pages that seem to ramble on and on with run-on sentences, no punctuation, and spelling errors. I usually get about half way in and then get frustrated and leave the blog page. This is unfortunate because the person writing it may have something very important to say, but if it’s not simple and easy to read, I just won’t take the time.

    Comment by kimhilts | January 30, 2008

  4. Darin and Kim, I agree with you that these blogs should be viewed as a professional space. Even as students we are professionals in training, so the same standards and expectations of us as educators should apply. Darin I liked how you addressed this issue to the online community as a whole and didn’t single out any particular persons. Having read this discussion I will now be more diligent in proof reading my work, but would hope that as my colleagues you would tactfully let me know if my posts are difficult to read or contain several spelling/grammatical errors. I will extend the same courtesy for those who perceive their blogs as a professional space, a published space that can potentially be viewed by future employers.

    Comment by kstilborn | January 30, 2008

  5. Darin, I have never really thought of maintaining that professionalism and intelligence on things on the internet before taking this class. Taking this class has given me the knowledge/sense of excluding all unprofessional pictures and comments made on my personal profile accounts (facebook, hi5, blogging, my space, etc), and proofreading all comments made by me. With that being said, i do agree that we as educators should maintain that professionalism in all aspects of our lives because I have learned that ” we are all being observed by someone”

    Comment by alexis1 | February 5, 2008

  6. I agree that professionalism should walk hand in hand with your career. Therefore dress, language and of course grammar must meet that standard. However we are all human. In the EPS class I am currently taking, we are studying the desired qualities of a teacher. One of those qualities is being authentic, which pertains to a teacher’s level of realness or being able to communicate with children. I think it’s okay for a teacher to make mistakes now and then because it allows the students to see that they are real people that they can relate to. Interesting blog!

    Comment by pisterb | February 5, 2008

  7. I can understand the response that unprofessional language might be perceived wrongly. I am a stickler for grammar and words, but I am a writer, and self admitted geek when it comes to language. I think everyone has a berth to make mistakes from time to time, and now that we have spell check around us as teachers, it is really simple to run a spell check before posting. Unfortunately, the world judges by actions, not by intentions. I think its important to be aware of what the role of teacher entails, and you are all right, society has certain expectations of teachers. Its a fact of life.

    Comment by sarah ferguson | February 27, 2008


Leave a Reply

