Darin Janssen’s Weblog

My road to teaching.

I am from Regina, SK and have live here pretty much my whole life. I graduate from M. A. Riffel High School in 1990 and was more than happy to be done with school forever. I needed to get out in the real world. I worked at many different jobs after high school including a video store, ranch hand, back to the video store, ranch hand again but also trained horses, warehouse worker, delivery driver, and eventually highway truck driver. During my time driving on the highway I spent many hours thinking about what I wanted to do with my life. I love driving truck but I could not see myself doing it for the rest of my life. My wife and family always told me that I should do something with kids because I worked so well with them, but I did not know what. In June 2004 I was in a bad trucking accident and got three compression fractures in my back. After many months of rehab it was decided that I could not go back to trucking. During my rehab I started to be a leader with my daughters beaver group (Scouts Canada). I loved it and decided that I should retrain to become a teacher. So here I am, back in school 17 years after high school.

Darin

January 15, 2008 - Posted by | ECMP 355, General

2 Comments »

  1. Glad to have you aboard.

    Comment by Dean Shareski | January 17, 2008

  2. Hey Darin

    Good for you for coming back, and following your heart. I think life experience really enriches your life as a teacher, so you have a lot to offer to your students. Fun sitting beside you in the lab. Thanks for the chips.

    Sarah

    Comment by fergus1s | January 23, 2008


Leave a Reply

